CART

×

購物車內無任何商品

託管型 vs 非託管型加密貨幣錢包:哪裡不一樣?

自從中心化加密貨幣交易所 FTX 開起了死亡螺旋,市場上一直存在著如何才能最安全地守護數位資產的激烈討論。由於 FTX 現在已進入破產程序,對大部分的 FTX 用戶來說,能拿回任何資金就已經是非常幸運的事情了,而大多數的人正思考著能做哪些事情來避免自己未來陷入同樣的情況。令人難過的是,這雖然是加密產業歷史上的一個重大不幸事件,卻絕對不會只發生這一次。過去幾年加密貨幣交易所被駭或偷走用戶資產的事件已經可以整理成一份又長又令人痛苦的清單,像是著名的 2014 Mt. Gox 被駭事件、2019 幣安被駭事件、2019 Cryptopia 被駭事件、Quadriga CX 創辦人逝世導致用戶無法取回資產的事件等。

持有加密貨幣的第一條原則很簡單:確保你的資產是安全的。然而對於不同的投資者來說,這句話有著不同含義,這取決於他們願意承擔多少責任。保存加密貨幣時,你有兩個選擇:

1) 你可以讓其他個體以託管的方式保管你的資產,例如交易所。或是將資產存放於託管型錢包中,在這樣的情況下,這些託管型錢包的私鑰持有者可以直接掌控你的加密資產。

2) 你也可以建立自己的錢包並管理自己的資產,這樣的錢包通常也被稱為私有錢包或非託管型錢包。這些詞有著同樣的意思,也就是只有你能夠直接掌控你的錢包,並有權使用錢包內的資產,而不是那些中心化機構。如果你選擇自行管理自己的加密資產,接下來就必須決定要使用冷錢包或熱錢包。

冷儲存指的是一個有記載你的私鑰或助記詞的實體物件,常見的有紙錢包或金屬製錢包。冷儲存也包含了硬體錢包,一種專門使用於簽署交易的電子裝置,能在不連接網路的情況下讓你安全地與去中心化的市場與協議互動。

雖然冷儲存是最安全的選項,但是通常會因為涉及功能強大的硬體而導致價格較高。而熱錢包大部分都是免費的軟體,能讓你快速地與 Web3 及 DeFi 世界互動,並使用更多新功能。然而使用熱錢包的安全風險較高,因此在操作上若能結合冷錢包跟熱錢包,會是個比較好的方式。此外,市面上有些熱錢包也可能比我們想像的更加中心化,就好像 MetaMask 最近承認收集用戶的 IP 地址。

這也是為什麼 CoolWallet 推出 CoolWallet HOT,一個令人感到興奮的嶄新熱錢包功能。自 2022 年 12 月起,用戶只要在 CoolWallet App(支援 iOS 及 Android)內簡單地點擊螢幕,就可以輕鬆地轉換熱錢包及冷錢包。這項新功能將可以促使潛在的加密貨幣投資者加入使用 CoolWallep App 的行列,也期許經過一段時間及使用經驗的累積,大部分的使用者能夠在冷熱錢包轉換的操作中,更完善地保護及有效地管理資產。值得一提的是,App 中冷錢包保障安全的功能是與之前一樣不變的。

不管是託管型錢包還是非託管型錢包,都有各自的優點及缺點,最合適的選擇會依據不同人的個人需求、對風險的容忍程度及對不同考量的點的優先順序而有所差異。在這篇文章中,我們將會解釋兩種錢包之間的的差異,並提供一些資訊,希望能夠協助你做出最合適、明智的決定。讓我們從最基本的概念開始解釋吧!

什麼是加密貨幣錢包?

加密貨幣錢包是一種能讓用戶儲存、發送、接收數位資產如比特幣、以太幣的數位工具。這些資產是以區塊鏈技術為基礎所建立的,其中區塊鏈又以去中心化、用透明的方式來交換及儲存資訊而聞名。

一個加密貨幣錢包包含了一組能轉換成錢包地址以接受資金的公鑰,及一組用於查訪及發送資金的私鑰。由於私鑰是唯一能夠使用資金的方式,且和特定的錢包地址有關聯,因而由一串很長的數字及字母所組成,應該被秘密地保管著。由此可知保障私鑰至關重要,任何人只要能接觸到你的私鑰,就能掌控你的資產。

有點難理解?沒關係,我們來舉個例子類比一下。先把你的公鑰想像成電子郵箱地址(如 [email protected]),並把私鑰當成是電子郵箱帳戶的個人密碼。然而,在這個例子中,並不存在像 Google 一樣的中心化管理服務商,如果你忘記密碼或不小心把密碼公開了,沒有資訊部門能夠協助你恢復密碼。因此如果私鑰遺失了,那麼錢包中的資產也很有可能會永遠遺失,就像有時會聽到某些人遺失了比特幣的私鑰後,失去天價資產的鬼故事。

加密貨幣錢包發展出非常多樣化的種類,包含軟體錢包跟硬體錢包,通常也分別稱為熱錢包跟冷錢包。熱錢包如 MetaMask 或 Trust Wallet 是連接網路的應用程式,而冷錢包就像是只有卡片尺寸大小能放進你的皮夾的 CoolWallet Pro,並沒有連接網路。 最重要的是,在 CoolWallet 裝置中建立一個分層確定性錢包 (Hierarchical Deterministic Wallet)時,你的私鑰是永久埋藏於 EAL6+ 安全元件,任何人都無法從中取得這份私鑰,即使是你自己也不行。這樣的機制使得你的助記詞變成唯一能夠復原錢包的方法。

什麼是託管型加密貨幣錢包?

託管型加密貨幣錢包(custodial wallet)是一種私鑰被第三方管理及儲存的加密貨幣錢包。這些第三方通常是加密貨幣交易所或金融機構,他們擁有私鑰的完全掌控權,且可以因此使用儲存於錢包中的資金,甚至恣意非法使用資金,就像我們經歷過的 FTX 案例。近期有新的儲備證明運動(Proof of Reserves movement),也就是透過交易所公布錢包地址清單讓大眾檢視的方式,希望試圖阻止這樣的例子再次發生。

使用託管型加密貨幣錢包的其中一個好處是他們很便利。一般來說,從託管型錢包轉出資金到銀行帳戶是可行的,且交易所會為你處理密鑰管理事宜。理論上只要這些被託管方持續運作且沒有被駭,一切都應該是沒有問題的。然而,我們仍不斷地被各種事件提醒,從 2014 Mt. Gox 被駭事件到最近的 FTX 破產事件,不好的事情確實會在交易所發生。

對於活躍的交易者而言,交易所提供了另一類具有吸引力的好處,像是便宜的手續費用(通常 0.1% 或更低),不同的交易選項如限價、止損和 OCO 訂單和保證金交易。

使用託管型錢包最主要的缺點是用戶無法直接掌控他們的私鑰,如果第三方管理的私鑰被駭或機構本身倒閉,用戶很有可能會失去他們的資產。因此在使用任何有提供託管錢包服務的交易所前,檢查這些交易所的審計、保險和儲備金是必要的。

此外,託管型錢包有時也會在提供的服務上徵收費用,可能會不利於那些希望將加密貨幣相關成本降至最低的人。

什麼是非託管型加密貨幣錢包?

非託管型加密貨幣錢包(non-custodial wallet)是一種使用者可以直接掌控私鑰的加密貨幣錢包。這表示用戶全權負責儲存及管理自己的私鑰且不用信任任何第三方。非託管型加密貨幣錢包可以是熱錢包(連接網路,通常也因此有較高風險被駭)也可以是冷錢包(完全離線)。熱錢包只以軟體應用方式呈現,而冷錢包可能是任何東西,不管是一張手寫或列印的紙(又稱紙錢包),還是被稱為硬體錢包的專用電子裝置,這些冷錢包的主要功能都是保護資產、阻止未被授權的要求入侵。

MetaMask 就是一個非託管型熱錢包的例子,而 CoolWallet 則生產了一系列的非託管型冷錢包。如果要使用一些特定的加密貨幣服務,使用非託管型錢包是必須的,像是去中心化交易所(DEX)如 Uniswap(目前在所有交易所中,交易量僅次於最大的 Binance)及 NFT 交易平台 OpenSea。

使用這些錢包時,用戶對於自己的資金有完全的掌控權,這表示用戶不會因為其他人的無能或瀆職而失去資金。此外,通常非託管型錢包並不會在自有服務上徵收費用。

對於幣圈新手來說,使用非託管型錢包會相對有挑戰性,這是這類錢包的一個缺點。用戶需要追蹤自己的私鑰,而一些技術方面的知識可能會使人感到卻步。在擁有自行保管自己資產的權力下,伴隨著努力保護資產的重大責任。畢竟在 Web3 世界中,你是你自己的銀行。

結語 – 一些思考

大部分認真看待加密貨幣的人會同時使用託管型及非託管型錢包,也會用冷錢包跟熱錢包。某些特別的交易功能如衍生性加密貨幣商品只有在中心化交易所才找得到,所以一些用戶會將部分資金留存在交易所掌控的錢包中。雖然對於專業的交易員來說,這種做法很難避免,但這些人卻更能意識到交易所相關的風險,並會將大部分的資金存放於非託管型錢包中。

在冷存儲解決方案市場上,CoolWallet Pro 是一款非託管型冷錢包,配有加密藍牙功能,讓用戶可以在任何時間及地方檢查自己的投資組合並進行交易。CoolWallet App 支援了內建質押功能,並整合了市面上領先的 NFT 交易平台、去中心化應用(DApp)、去中心化交易所(DEX)的整合方案。

在進階的產品晶片及高分的 CC EAL6+ 安全認證保障下,你可以感到安心自在,因為你的加密資產是被保護著的,阻止駭客及其他威脅入侵。同時 CoolWallet Pro 不但輕且薄,就像一張信用卡。在擁有 CoolWallet Pro 的情況下你可以游刃有餘,因為知道自己的資金很安全。

如果你不小心掉入熊市的爪牙而還沒準備好出資買一個冷錢包,那麼就試試看 CoolWallet App 內的新錢包功能吧!跟著 CoolWallet 沿著令人興奮的 2023 roadmap 前進,早期用戶還有機會獲得 NFT 獎項及未來空投的資格!

Go to previous article

CoolWallet App 再進化,新增 Web3 熱錢包!

© 2023 - CoolWallet - All Rights Reserved
Website by Innovext

CART

×

No products in the cart.

Custodial Vs Non-Custodial Crypto Wallets: What’s the Difference?

Since the centralized crypto exchange FTX first began its death spiral, there has been a vigorous discussion on how best to secure digital assets. Most users of the now-insolvent FTX will be lucky if they get any funds back at all, and many people are wondering what they can do to avoid this situation in the future. Sadly, it’s an unfortunate event in crypto history that is not isolated by any means. The list of crypto exchanges that got hacked or stole their users over the years is long and painful, including the likes of Mt. Gox, Binance, Cryptopia, Quadriga CX, to name a few.

The first rule of owning crypto is simple: making sure it is safe. This means different things for different investors, depending on how much responsibility they want to take on. When storing your cryptocurrency, you have two choices:
1) you can either let somebody else like an exchange keep custody of it in a custodial or hosted wallet where they control your crypto
2) you can set up your own wallet and self-custody your assets in what’s known as a private/unhosted/non-custodial wallet. These terms all mean the same thing, that only you, instead of some centralized entity, directly control your wallet and access to it. If you choose to self-custody your crypto, you next have to decide whether you want to use cold (offline) or hot (online) storage.

Cold storage refers to either a paper or steel wallet (a physical object that only stores your private key or recovery seed) or a hardware wallet, a dedicated electronic device that signs transactions without being connected to the internet and allows you to interact with decentralized marketplaces and protocols safely.

While cold storage is the safest option, it also comes with a hefty price tag due to the powerful hardware involved. Hot wallets are free software that allows you to interact faster and access more features in areas like Web3 and DeFi. They come with a bigger security risk though, therefore using a combination of cold and hot wallets is a good idea. Moreover, hot wallets can also be more centralized than we think, as MetaMask’s recent admission that it collects users’ IP addresses have shown.

This is why CoolWallet launched CoolWallet HOT, an exciting new hot wallet module, in December 2022 for its CoolWallet App (iOS/Android), allowing users to effortlessly switch between hot and cold storage by simply tapping the screen. This will allow all potential crypto investors to use the CoolWallet App, and hopefully, over time most users will use a combination of our cold and hot storage to safeguard and manage their crypto. The cold storage part of the app remains unchanged though.

Both custodial and non-custodial wallets have their pros and cons, and the right choice for you will depend on your individual needs, risk tolerance, and priorities. In this article, we’ll explain the differences between these two types of wallets and provide some information to help you make an informed decision. Let’s start right at the beginning.

What is a crypto wallet?

A cryptocurrency wallet is a digital tool that allows users to store, send, and receive digital assets like Bitcoin, Ethereum, and others. These assets are based on blockchain technology, a decentralized and transparent way of storing and sending data.

A crypto wallet includes a public address (or public key), which is used to receive funds, and a private key, which is used to access and spend the funds. The private key is a long string of numerals and letters that should be kept secret, as it’s the only way to access the funds associated with a particular public address. It’s crucial to protect your private key. Anyone who has access to it can control your funds. 

Imagine your public key as similar to an email address (e.g. [email protected]) and the private key as the personal password that unlocks your email account. However, in this case, there is no centralized service provider like Google (Gmail) or your IT department to help you restore your password if you expose or forget it: when a private key is lost, the assets in that wallet are in all likelihood forever lost as well, as these crazy bitcoin private key crypto horror stories show.

Crypto wallets can come in a variety of forms, including software and hardware wallets, which are also known as hot and cold wallets. Hot wallets like MetaMask or Trust Wallet are applications that are connected online, while a cold wallet like the CoolWallet Pro is a credit-card-sized object that fits in your wallet or purse and does not have any internet connectivity.

Importantly, when setting up a new hierarchically deterministic (HD) wallet on your CoolWallet device, your private key is permanently “buried” inside its EAL6+ secure element (SE) microchip, where it can never be retrieved by anyone, not even you. This makes your recovery seed phrase the only means to restore your wallet account elsewhere if needed. 

What are custodial crypto wallets?

A custodial wallet is a type of cryptocurrency wallet where private keys are managed and stored by a third party. This third party, typically a cryptocurrency exchange or financial institution, has full control over the private keys and can therefore access the funds stored in the wallet and illegally use them as they wish, as we’ve seen with FTX. This is something that the new Proof of Reserves movement, where exchanges publish a list of public wallet addresses to be monitored, is trying to deter.

One advantage of using a custodial crypto wallet is that they are convenient. It’s usually possible to withdraw from the custodial wallet to a bank account, and the exchange takes care of the key management for you. So long as they stay in business and don’t get hacked, everything should be fine. However, as we keep getting reminded, beginning with the Mt. Gox hack in 2014 and through FTX’s insolvency, bad things can and do happen at exchanges.

The other big benefits are geared more towards active traders, such as cheap transactions (usually 0.1% or less), and trading options such as limit, stop-loss, and OCO orders and margin trading. 

The main disadvantage of using a custodial wallet is the user does not have direct control over their private keys. If the third party managing the keys is hacked or goes under, the user may lose access to their funds. It’s essential to check up on the audits, insurance, and reserves of any exchange offering a custodial wallet.

Additionally, custodial wallets may impose fees for their services, which can disadvantage those looking to minimize the costs associated with their cryptocurrency holdings.

What are non-custodial wallets?

A non-custodial wallet is a cryptocurrency wallet where the user has direct control over their private keys. This means the user is solely responsible for storing and managing them and does not need to trust a third party. Non-custodial wallets can either be hot (internet-connected, making it riskier for hacks) or cold (completely offline). Hot wallets are software-only, while cold wallets can be anything from a written or printed piece of paper (paper wallet) to a dedicated device called a hardware wallet whose main purpose is to protect your funds from unauthorized access.

MetaMask is an example of a hot wallet that is non-custodial, while CoolWallet produces a line of non-custodial hardware wallets. To use certain crypto services like decentralized exchanges (DEXs) — for example, UniSwap (which currently pulls the most trading volume after Binance of all exchanges) and NFT marketplaces like OpenSea— it’s necessary to have a non-custodial wallet.

With these wallets, the user has complete control over their funds. This means that they are not at risk of losing them due to the incompetence or malfeasance of others. Additionally, non-custodial wallets typically do not impose any fees for their services.

One disadvantage of using a non-custodial wallet is it can be more challenging for those who are new to crypto. The user must keep track of their keys, and the technical aspects can be daunting to some. With the power to self-custody your own assets comes a great responsibility to secure them as much as possible. You are your own bank after all.

Last thoughts

Most people serious about crypto will be using both custodial and non-custodial wallets, as well as both hot and cold ones. Certain exotic trading features like crypto derivatives are only available on centralized exchanges, leading some users to park a portion of their funds in exchange-hosted wallets. While such practices are hard to avoid for professional traders, these people tend to be aware of the risks associated with exchanges and keep most of their crypto in a non-custodial wallet.

For those in the market for a cold-storage solution, the CoolWallet Pro is a non-custodial hardware wallet with an encrypted Bluetooth connection that allows you to check your portfolio and make transactions anywhere. It features staking, in-app integrations with the leading NFT marketplace and DeFi DEX support.

With the product’s upgraded chipset and high CC EAL6+ security rating, you can be confident that your funds are safe from hacks and other threats. It’s also thin and lightweight, just like a credit card. Get the rest you need knowing your funds are safe with the CoolWallet Pro.

If the bear market’s got its claws in you and you’re not ready to spend that much on a hardware wallet, try our CoolWallet App’s new HOT wallet module. Early users who try out its features can win NFT prizes and qualify for future airdrops as we move along our exciting 2023 CoolWallet roadmap.

Go to previous article

CoolWallet App Launches New Web3 Hot Wallet Module for Safe Self-Custody

Go to next article

Hot vs Cold Wallets: How to Self-Custody Your Crypto Right

© 2023 - CoolWallet - All Rights Reserved
Website by Innovext